Like pearls scattering in the East Sea, the Penghu archipelago is located in the southwest of the Taiwan Strait. Penghu, the name, meaning "fishermen's islands," was given to the group by the Portuguese in the 16th century. Ceded to Japan in 1895 and returned to China after World War II, the islands have been administered by Taiwan since 1949.

The Penghu archipelago consists of near one hundred islands. The land area totals about 127 square kilometers, only 20 islands are inhabited. The Penghu archipelago is rich in marine life, more than 200 different bird species live here. It is the only island whose coastlines are formed of basalt magma. It is the hometown of sea and wind as well as basalt

Producer: Charlie Chu / Elvis Lu
Language: English, Mandarini
Running Time: 60 minutes
Year: 2008
Video: 4:3 HD 1080P
Audio: Dolby 5.1
Format: Blu-ray and SD

Magicplay Entertainment. 2003 All Rights Reserved